Logan County Coroner Document Fees
Information concerning traumatic cases will not be released until after an inquest is held. Information can be obtained by immediate family members and/or insurance companies. The Freedom of Information Act allows for non-family members to obtain reasonable information concerning a decedent if that person has a good reason to have said information. However, this can be denied.
Under the State Statute (Public Act 96-1161 of Illinois Revised Statutes) the office of coroner is to charge for specific documents. These fees are listed below:
- Inquest Transcript $5.00 per Page
- Verdict Sheet (included in transcript) $5.00
- Autopsy Report $50.00
- Toxicology Report $25.00
- Coroner’s Report of Death $25.00
- Photos (from scene and/or autopsy) $3.00 per Photo
- Miscellaneous Reports $25.00 each
- Cremation Permit Fee $50.00
Not every case will warrant all of the above tests and/or documentation. Furthermore, only those documents generated by our office will be available.
If you want information on a specific case, you can come to our office at 1300 N. Postville Drive, Lincoln Illinois 62656 or you can call from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday at (217)732-9322.