State's Attorney

COVID-19 Information

Information related to COVID-19 affecting Logan County IL.

ios7 information outline Current Statistics 

Logan County Department of Public Health

If you think you have been exposed to COVID‑19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.


Search Our Site

document text Organizational Chart
document text FOIA Request Form

Remote hearings for AD, JA and JD cases types must be approved by the judge and set by that judge’s office.

To appear remotely, follow the links through the Logan County Circuit Clerk’s Website.

Illinois law ensures that crime victims are treated with fairness and respect for their dignity and privacy throughout the criminal justice process.

The victim/witness coordinator of the Logan County State’s Attorney’s Office provides information and support throughout the criminal justice process. The coordinator provides information and connects to outside agencies to assist specific victim needs. The coordinator can also help you complete necessary forms for restitution and the Attorney General’s Office’s Crime Victims Compensation Application.

If you are the victim of a violent crime and charges have been filed, you should expect to be contacted by the victim/witness coordinator. We will do our best to contact you within two weeks of the filing of felony charges. If you are not contacted within two weeks, please call our office at (217) 732-2184.

Crime Victim’s Rights

Article I, Section 8.1 of the Illinois Constitution, and the Illinois Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act (725 ILCS 120/1, et seq.), guarantees that crime victims, and their immediate family members, are treated with fairness and respect for their dignity and privacy throughout the criminal justice system.

If you or a family member were injured because of a violent crime resulting in felony charges or some misdemeanor charges, you are granted the right to certain information about the proceeding. However, you must assert these rights for them to apply to you. If you are eligible to receive the services covered by Illinois law, you will receive a letter from our office within two to four weeks of the filing of felony charges. The letter will contain a checklist of the available services. You must complete the form and return it within 14 days of the date on the letter to receive these services. The form will be placed in the court file so all parties – the judge, the prosecution, and the defense – are aware that you wish to assert these rights.

If you have access to the internet, you may check court dates on the Logan County Circuit Clerk’s Website, to stay apprised of all court proceedings. If the defendant is in jail or prison, you may register to be notified of any change in custody status at or by calling 1-800-566-8439.

The Illinois Attorney General’s Crime Victims Compensation Bureau provides financial assistance to eligible victims of violent crime and their families. Eligible applicants may receive reimbursement up to $27,000 ($45,000 for crimes on or after 8/7/22) for expenses incurred by victims as a result of a violent crime. Some of the expenses that are eligible for compensation include hospital and medical expenses, funeral and burial costs, relocation expenses, and lost wages. For more information contact the Crime Vitim Assistance Line at 1-800-228-3368.

Victim Impact Statements

In any case in which a defendant has been convicted of a violent crime, a crime victim is allowed to present an oral or written statement. An oral statement includes the victim or a representative of the victim reading the written statement. The judge may also allow persons impacted by the crime who are not victims to present an oral or written statement. Anyone presenting an oral statement is not allowed to be put under oath or subject to cross-examination.

The court has discretion to determine the number of oral presentations of victim impact statements. Impact statements must be prepared in writing in conjunction with our office prior to the initial hearing or sentencing before it can be presented orally or in writing at the sentencing hearing.  

Orders of Protection

There are four types of civil orders of protection under Illinois law: Orders of Protection; Civil No Contact Order; Stalking No Contact Order; and Firearms Restraining Order.

Orders of Protection are meant to protect any person abused by a family or household member. Abuse means physical abuse, harassment, intimidation of a dependent, interference with personal liberty or willful deprivation. Family or household member includes spouses, former spouses, parents, children, stepchildren and other persons related by blood or by present or prior marriage, persons who share or formerly shared a common dwelling, persons who have a child in common, persons who share or allegedly share a blood relationship through a child, persons who have or have had a dating or engagement relationship, persons with disabilities and their personal assistants, and caregivers.

Civil No Contact Orders are meant to protect any victim of non-consensual sexual conduct or non-consensual sexual penetration and their family and household members.

Stalking No Contact Orders are meant to protect victims of stalking and their children. Stalking means 2 or more acts in which a person directly, indirectly, or through third parties, by any action follows, monitors, observes, surveils, or threatens a person, workplace, school, or place of worship and the acts would cause a reasonable person to fear for his or her safety, the safety of the workplace, school, or place of worship.

Firearms Restraining Orders prohibit a named person from having in his or her custody or control, purchasing, possessing, or receiving any firearm or ammunition, or removing firearm parts that could be assembled to make an operable firearm. Persons who can petition for a firearm restraining order are family members of the respondent or a law enforcement officer who alleges that the respondent poses a danger of causing personal injury to himself, herself, or another by having a firearm or ammunition.

Q: Where is the State’s Attorney’s Office?

A:  The State’s Attorney’s Office is located on the third floor of the Logan County Courthouse, located at 601 Broadway Street, Lincoln, Illinois 62656.

Q: I have proof of insurance, do I still need to go to court?

A:  If you had insurance on the date of your ticket, bring proof of insurance and a copy of your ticket to the State’s Attorney’s Office at least one day before your court date and you can avoid going to court.

Q: Where do I go to pay my fines?

A:  Fines can be paid through the Circuit Clerk’s Office.

Q: I need assistance from an attorney. Can the State’s Attorney’s Office recommend someone?

A:  The State’s Attorney’s Office is not allowed to give legal advice and this includes recommendations for a private attorney.

Q: Where can I get information on a case?

A:  Daily docket and case information are available through the Circuit Clerk’s Office and JUDICI. The Circuit Clerk’s Office cannot give out court information over the phone regarding juvenile cases.

Q: What is the difference between an order of protection and a stalking no contact order?

A: For orders of protection, there must be a qualifying domestic or household relationship between the victim and the offender.

For stalking no contact orders, there does not need to be a domestic or household relationship between the victim and offender, but there must be at least two incidents between the victim and offender in which a reasonable person would fear for his or her safety.

Q: How do I report a crime?

A: If it is an emergency, call 911. For non-emergencies, call the Sheriff’s Office or the police department where the crime occurred. If you wish to remain anonymous while providing a tip about a crime, please contact Crimestoppers by calling (217) 732-3000 or by sending an email to

If you have a reasonable belief that someone is physically or sexually abusing a child, or neglecting a child, you should report it to Illinois DCFS. People who work with children, including teachers, coaches, school officials, daycare providers and healthcare providers, are required by law to make a report. However, anyone who suspects child abuse or neglect can make a report. Just call 1-800-25-ABUSE (1-800-252-2873).

Q: I am a victim of a crime, do I have to go to court?

A: Anyone can attend court, but the only time a victim or a witness would be required to attend court would be for a substantive hearing or trial, pursuant to a subpoena. It is very important you notify the State’s Attorney’s Office of any changes in address or phone number from the time of the original police report.

Q: Can I dismiss charges?

A: When a charge is brought in criminal court, it is brought by the State’s Attorney’s Office on behalf of all of the People of Illinois, not just the victim in a given case. The decision to dismiss a case is not taken lightly and cases will not be dismissed solely on the basis that it is the wish of the victim.

Q: What do I do if I receive a subpoena to testify?

A: To determine whether your testimony will be needed, please call the State’s Attorney’s Office at (217) 732-2184 and ask to speak to the victim/witness coordinator. When you call, have the subpoena at hand because it contains the defendant’s name, case number, courtroom, and other important information you will need.

If you are needed to testify, the State’s Attorney’s Office will work with you as best as possible to keep to a minimum your time away from work, school, or other obligations.

If you receive a subpoena and do not make direct contact with our office, then you must appear at the date and time the subpoena indicates.